Preferences - Utilities - Archive and Restore

EngineerOffice allows you to archive and restore your data. The reasons to do so can be many besides reducing the size of your database. You can archive (and restore) data by client or project, and use filters for selective archiving. Most commonly, inactive clients and projects are archived along with their time and expense entries, invoices,payments, and other records, to speed up database retrieval and manage active data easily and quickly. Multiple clients and projects can be archived and restored at a time.

 

The grid on the Archive and Restore screen displays data depending on your selection: Mode and Option.

 

Mode

Archive:

Select this option if you want to archive the EngineerOffice data (projects, clients, and so on) selected on the grid.

 

Restore:

Select this option if you want to restore the archived data (projects, clients, and so on) selected on the grid to your EngineerOffice database. When this option is selected, the contents of the archive file will be displayed on the grid. Archived data can be restored at any time.

 

Option 1:
Select this option if you want to archive or restore projects and their related information (expenses, time entries, invoices, payments and logs). With this selection, you can view the project information on the grid, such as project name, number, client, etc.

 

Option 2:
Select this option if you want to archive or restore clients and their related information (projects, expenses, invoices, time entries, payments and logs). With this selection, you can view the client information on the grid, such as company, client name, etc.

 

Filters:

Filters limit the number of records displayed in the grid to be archived or restored. You can choose any of the available filters to archive or restore selective data. The filters apply on the data displayed in the grid and include project type, project status,  client, etc.

 

Grid

You can select specific projects or clients by marking the check box next to their names in the grid. The options change depending on the Mode selected by you.

 

Click the heading of any column in the grid to reverse the sort order. They will be listed in ascending or descending order.

 

Overwrite Existing Data:

Select this option if you want to overwrite existing data when you archive or restore. This option is useful if you have archived data (for example Project A) and then created a record by the same name (Project A). When archiving Project A again, if this option is checked, the archived data will be overwritten by the new data. In addition, when restoring Project A, the existing data in the database will be overwritten by the archived data.

 

Action

Begin:

Click this to start the archive or restore process. Make sure no other users are logged into EngineerOffice when you begin the archive or restore process.