When you update fields in a group of projects, does it only affect future entries? For example, if rates are increased across a range of projects, does it only affect billing going forward? And what happens if the wrong rates are used because someone forgot to add the updated ones?
Changes made to bill and cost rates for employees or in service fee schedules assigned to projects will be applied only to time entries recorded after the changes. Entries recorded before updating the rates are not changed.
On the other hand, if you make changes to bill or cost rates after an employee records his or her hours, but these time records should have used the new rates, BillQuick has two ways to update these time records quickly.
First, on the Sheet View screen display the time records you want to update. Use the View By, Period Including and filters (as needed) to pull out the ones you want. Highlight the time records you want to change. Right-click on any of the selected rows and select Update Rates from the menu. BillQuick selects the correct bill and cost rates from the employee’s or contractor’s record or from the service fee schedule assigned to the project charged with the time. Only unbilled time entries are updated.
QuickUpdate is the second way to update rates in time records. This built-in utility is used when you want to apply corrected rates to time entries involving multiple projects, employees and/or contactors. Filter and rate application options are part of the utility.